Thirsty Thursday: Jersey Blueberry Iced Tea

Welcome to Thirsty Thursday!  The name is a throwback to my college days – we always headed out on Thursday nights because who took classes on Fridays?!  Well, bio majors kinda get forced into very early electives on Fridays but I survived… my grades made it out alive too.

I first had an adult blueberry iced tea at Blue Hill Tavern in Baltimore.  They call it Sweet Blueberry Tea and make it with blueberry infused vodka (maybe a KitchenTreats project for next summer?). I instantly fell in love and began making my own version at home.  It’s so refreshing and yummy.  There may or may not be a picture of me drinking iced tea out of a bottle when I was little.  Plus, I’m a Jersey girl and we love our blueberries.  For the first 8 years of my life, we lived on one of the Giberson’s blueberry farms.  My sister and I rode a tractor with my Dad through the blueberry bushes stuffing our faces with the sweet black-blue treats.  If that wasn’t enough, I grew up 20 minutes from Hammonton, “The Blueberry Capitol of the World.”  Seriously, next June check your blueberry container: odds are they’re from Hammonton, NJ.  I think it’s needless to say blueberries are in my veins.

Blueberries + iced tea = perfect summer beverage.  Local blueberries are getting sparse but don’t let that stop you from finishing off your summer days with this drink.

Jersey Blueberry Iced Tea

Serves 4 – 6

6 cups water

8 tea bags

1/4 sugar

1/2 cup iced tea vodka

1/2 cup blueberry vodka

juice of 1 lemon or 2 – 3 limes

lemon or lime wedges, optional

Jersey blueberries, frozen or fresh for garnish (optional)

Boil the water and add the tea bags.  Let steep 20 minutes.  Squeeze out the tea bags and remove them.  Add in the sugar while the tea is still warm so it dissolves.  If you like your iced tea really sweet you may want to add more sugar; taste and adjust to your taste.  Pour into a pitcher and stir in the vodkas and citrus juice.  Chill in the fridge and serve over ice with some frozen blueberries (they float!) and a slice of lemon if you wish

Note:  If you can find 100% blueberry juice, that also makes a great addition. I like Wyman’s Wild Blueberry Juice. 

Another note: this will keep in the fridge for well over a week.  The tea doesn’t go stale – I think it’s the vodka.

     

This entry was posted in alcohol, blueberries, cocktail, drinks, party, Party Ideas and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thirsty Thursday: Jersey Blueberry Iced Tea

  1. Pingback: Second Time Around « It's 12 O' Clock Somewhere

Leave a Reply

