Perfect Foolproof Poached Egg with Zucchini Hash

My husband always helps out for my Cooking Club adventures – he makes a great sous chef and I love him for it.  The day after Fire and Ice CC here meant a special kitchen treat to thank him.  I made a quick zucchini hash, heated up some leftover pulled pork, and topped it with a poached egg…. and a sprinkling of Scorpion pepper specks.

Poached eggs can be tricky.  I made my first ones with some Hollandaise for a a surpise Eggs Benedict lunch for my mom one summer.  She always came home at the same time for her lunch hour.  I think I was only in high school and I still remember making the whole thing, trying to time it just right.  I made it the old fashioned way in a large skillet full of boiling water and some vinegar.  I didn’t get the timing just right (I made her go directly to the living room so she wouldn’t figure out my surprise) but I think the eggs turned out okay for my first try. 

I’ve made them the old fashioned way many times and haven’t always had the best results – sometimes I get it perfect and sometimes their overcooked, under-cooked, or the white ends up a tumbleweed-y mess in the water.  You know what I mean, if you’ve tried it.  I went on a hunt for an easier way that morning.  And an easier way, I found.  This one I’ll be keeping forever as my go-to method.  It’s foolproof!

Perfectly Poached Egg

Adapted from a Cooks Illustrated Method

You’ll need:

egg(s), room temp or run under warm water for a minute

2 cup glass measuring cup

water, salt, and vinegar

small bowl

slotted spoon

Add 1½ cups of hot water to a 2 cup measuring cup.  Stir in 2 teaspoons vinegar and a hefty pinch of salt.  Microwave on high for 2 – 3 minutes, a good rolling boil.  While the water mixture is microwaving, carefully crack an egg into a small bowl.  Do not break the yolk.  When the water is boiling, remove from the microwave and stir it in a circular motion, creating a little whirlpool bath for your egg.  Carefully slip your egg in and stir for another few seconds.  Cover the top with plastic wrap and set a timer for 5 minutes.  When the timer goes off you have a perfectly poached egg waiting to be dressed up, broken into, and eaten.  Use a slotted spoon to remove the egg and drain.  Enjoy!

. . .

Quick Zucchini Hash

1 medium onion

1 medium zucchini

1 clove garlic (optional)

salt and pepper to taste

Dice the onion into a small dice – about 1/4″ x 1/4″.  Dice the zucchini into a medium dice – about 1/2″ x 1/2″.  Heat a pan over medium high heat.  Add in a teaspoon of olive oil or butter, whichever is your preference.  Add in the onions and cook until slightly translucent, about 3 minutes.  Add in the zucchini and turn the heat up to high.  Let the zucchini get a little brown on one side before stirring.  Cook the zucchini for about 5 minutes; it should be crisp-tender when you’re done.  If you like it a little softer, cook it a little longer.

. . .

To create Tom’s thank you breakfast, I added some of the zucchini hash to the bottom of the plate and put some leftover re-heated pulled pork on top of that.  Then the poached egg got slipped atop the pile as the crown jewel.  I sprinkled on some Scorpion pepper (leftover from the Scorpion Pepper Vanilla Ice Cream) for color and heat.  Add your favorite hot pepper, hot sauce, herb, or some fresh cracked black pepper. 

Don’t forget the toast to sop up all that glorious yolk. 😉

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Brunch, Cooking Club, Leftovers, zucchini and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Perfect Foolproof Poached Egg with Zucchini Hash

  1. If you use the scorpion peppers, there really isn’t any need for additional hot sauce. Trust me…

Leave a Reply

